The New Weather

The garden is her laughing face
two rose-lidded irises shoot off into space
as a strange breeze crosses the aging lawn
and her beehive mouth
full of sharp darting tongues
makes a mockery of the old–three raised veins
over a slender cheekbone

There was a time
when the sunlight’s work on flowers was enough
to be taken at face value
to be weighed and exchanged for love
one transaction still remains fixed in memory
I
 stole them all lovingly
I had every intention of keeping them alive

Roots of the newer houses surely touch mine
short grasses, long vases
Something morbid has crept into me
Though D
eath, perched in the clouds
shakes his head sportingly when I call for rain
No more rain, his shoulders seem to say
This is the new weather
Oh? I ask, struggling to read under the dark hood
And what might that bring?

About Joey Anthony

I like strawberry milk. I like June, both the month and the word. I like laughing and making other people laugh, though it doesn't always work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment